Birthday Goals 2.0

Last year around this time, I made some “birthday goals,” which you can find here. I’m going to recap these 10 goals and also project a few for this year.

  • Spend more time with God

This will always be a desire of mine I think. To be honest, it was not an easy year in terms of finding time to spend with God. There’s the saying, “If you’re too busy for God, you’re too busy.” Personally, I think that we all go through different seasons in our lives. This past year, I felt that I was unable to properly devote time to God the way I wanted to. I was learning how to be a mother, and often my time with God was quick. That’s not to say that I give myself a pass. I’m simply saying that I’m learning how to do both appropriately.

  • Help the mister finish our basement renovations

I’m still helping him and we’re still working on them. I think they’ll be done this year. [I’m more hoping they’ll be done by Christmas, but we’ll see what the future holds for us.]

  • Drink more water

Um, ya, this one was somewhat accomplished. I definitely drank more than I used to, but certainly not an abundance. I’ve been taking a re-useable water bottle with me wherever I go and I think that has definitely helped in some aspects. Keeping water in my purse and visible when I’m working as helped keep it as a constant reminder for me.

  • Spend less time on social media and more time with people

Well… I kind of, sort of, didn’t really accomplish anything with this one. I definitely spent more time with people. I did not, however, spend less time online. I think the problem is that I check it on my phone ALL THE TIME and I always have tabs open on my web browser. I’m looking at a variety of options for cutting out social media usage, but I definitely find it a struggle. I was planning to get rid of my social media accounts altogether, but I currently operate our youth account and my work’s Facebook page. Both of these are important in separate ways, so for now I need to find ways to work around the distraction of my own account.

  • Reupholster a chair

No. Not even a little bit. The chair has now moved onto my front porch. I told the mister I’d like to get rid of it and he seemed upset. Maybe it will be a project we work on over Christmas break?

  • Moms & Tots

This program got started and was a learning experience. I’m hosting it again this year, but there are a number of changes I’m wanting to make to the group. Firstly, I found the day we chose to run the program didn’t work well for as many moms in the community. Secondly, I found that I need a better way of communicating changes and information to those who are interested in the program. So there’s some things I need to think about and look at implementing.

  • Be more focused and deliberate at work

I definitely worked hard at this one. Partially because I get paid hourly. If I don’t work, I don’t get paid. Simple as that. The other reason? I want to learn as much as I can about the business I work for. In doing so, I can be that much more invested in the decisions that are made. I also want to be able to help my boss make appropriate and careful decisions. I’m hoping to improve even more in this area.

  • Be more active

HA! Well, I guess I was more active without really thinking about it. I definitely did not get a gym membership or start working out [other than that time I did free Zumba at a local church for about three months]. But I did start walking more often. I’d take the little man out for one or two (sometimes more) walks each day of the week – as I was able. Sometimes, I’d even take the dog out. I also spent more time being outside [which helped me in the “drinking more water” department].

  • Play music more often

Nope. Part of that is time has not allowed for it. The other part is that space is not the most available at the moment due to renovations. I’m hoping that once our house in rearranged I’ll be able to play the piano more often.

  • Pray

Interestingly enough, this was actually something I did a lot more than I thought. I would often take the little man on walks during the day. Usually, during this time, I would spend the first 15 minutes of the walk praying about various things. Sometimes it would end up being most of the walk. I’ve also taken to really listening when the Spirit prompts me to pray. I used to find it odd that a person or a place would come to mind randomly. It could have been a family member or a person I hadn’t seen in a while. This past year, I really allowed the Spirit to lead as I would pray. If I thought of someone, in that very moment, I would stop and pray about that individual or situation. It’s been really interesting to feel the Lord’s guidance concerning my prayer life.

So, those have been my goals from the last year. Now that I’m heading into another year of increased wisdom *ahem* I feel it would be wise [see what I did there?] to make some new goals for myself. I feel that larger, yearly goals are important to make for oneself. I also think, that smaller monthly, weekly, and daily goals are important too. Because I can guarantee I won’t be blogging more than once a month, I plan to also make some monthly goals [just a few] that I plan to work through. So, in no particular order, here are my upcoming yearly goals I hope to work through [many of these will likely sound familiar].

  1. Devote more time to learning about my Lord and Saviour
  2. Finish renovations
  3. Drink more water
  4. Re-invent Moms&Tots
  5. Learn patience
  6. Pray
  7. Develop closer relationships
  8. Lead the youth
  9. Balance my time
  10. Save money

 


Leave a comment